PDA

View Full Version : Weekend Warrior build thread, and history behind it.

Wwarrior
06-24-2014, 02:58 PM
First of, I introduce myself. I did it in the new member section, but anyway. I am Alex, I'm 27, and work as a Chrysler technician for about half a year now. I've been working in a ford dealer for 3 years before. I like to build stuff for my jeep, so please don't bash on my work. I know I have copied well known companys, but If I can save a few bucks this way, I will do it.

So, It all started when I was a kid. Back then, my father had an old '73 CJ5 that he completely rebuilted, implanted a 360ci from AMC, that came off of a cherokee I think. Had 33" mud tires, SOA, hard top only. This was, what I liked to most, as a kid. If my dad was going somewhere with the jeep, I had to be there.

My brother and I, back in 1996 or something like that.

Then, in 2007, I bought my old TJ. a '97 4 banger on 31's and 3" coil spacers. Had it for 2 years. Installed 4" lift kit, 33" interco LTB, and a winch. Then, I had to sell it. I enrolled in the canadian armed forces and needed a car for the long distances I had to do.

I been in the army for a little while, then got sick and decided to go back home. As a supporter of the armed forces, whether it be american or canadian, I still like everthing around it. You will see a military thematic on my jeep. Which shows support for the troops and reminds people where the jeep brand all began.

Two years ago, I have bought a 2012 2 door JK, manual tranny, soft top only, no A/C (which I regret a lot). I wanted a jeep that was cost effective for what I intented to do with it. I had in mind a well build jeep, that would be scratched in branches, sunk in mud, sandblasted from dust, but still had a nice look. I wanted a jeep that has better fuel consumption (can't say fuel economy with a jeep), and better on-road manner, since it is my daily driver.

These pictures shows how it is actually